Episode 5 - Ideas Are Everywhere with Zanni Louise & Tristan Bancks

Listen now


Download Shownotes


Catherine Pelosi Author

Zanni Louise is a CBCA Notable Australian children’s book author. She has published two picture books, and releases another eight books in 2018/2019.

Zanni’s books enjoy travelling and learning new languages. They will make their way to US, UK, China, Germany, Denmark, Korean and Slovenia in the next year. In Australia, she’s published by ScholasticLittle Hare and The Five Mile Press. In US, she is published by Clarion Books.

Zanni tours schools and festivals, sharing her love of writing with children and adults. She is also a StoryBoard author, inspiring literacy and creativity in children across Northern NSW. Zanni is represented by the Children’s Bookshop Speaker’s Agency.

Zanni lives in her little sunshine house in Northern NSW with two girls, one husband and a cat called Mary Feather Flower. Zanni is looking forward to growing up one day, but for the moment, enjoys silly dancing, wanderling, and soft cheese. She prefers not to do the washing up. 

 

Find Zanni online at:

Website: www.zannilouise.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/zannilouisesunshinehouse

Twitter: www.twitter.com/zannilouise

Instagram: www.instagram.com/zannilouise

 

Quarks Academy Kids Book Hachette

Tiggy has a BIG imagination. She sometimes has BIG feelings too. But everything is A-Okay, because Tiggy has a very special secret ...

Tiggy has a magic paintbrush tucked in her long sock. Tiggy will use her magic paintbrush to get herself out of trouble, but sometimes the paintbrush can cause more trouble than it’s worth! The challenge for Tiggy is to come up with her own solution to the problem at hand, without relying on magic.

In Tiggy and the Magic Paintbrush, Zanni Louise has created an exquisite picture book series that’s fun, humourous and quirky, and uses language that’s simple enough for early readers to enjoy. Tiggy is a lively character who’ll spark the imagination of kids (and parents!) everywhere. The books reaffirm that imagination is a positive resource for problem solving and emotional self-regulation, and throughout the book, Tiggy and her best friends, Felix and Poh, consistently navigate life at five years of age in imaginative and ingenious ways.

Tiggy and the Magic Paintbrush will appeal to fans of Sally Rippin’s Billy B. Brown series and Enid Blyton’s Noddy. 

 

Tiggy and the Magic Paintbrush can be found at:

www.fivemile.com.au/catalog/children/tiggy-and-magic-paintbrush-school-day-smile


More books by Zanni include...

ARCHIE AND THE BEAR

TOO BUSY SLEEPING

- COMING SOON -

ERROL!



Kids Capers Guest Interviewer - Zamika interviews author Tristan Bancks

ABOUT TRISTAN:

Tristan Bancks is a children’s and teen author with a background in acting and filmmaking. His books include the My Life series, Mac Slater (Australia and US) and Two Wolves (On the Run in the US), a crime-mystery novel for middle-graders. Two Wolves won Honour Book in the 2015 Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards and was shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. It also won the YABBA and KOALA Children’s Choice Awards. Tristan’s new books are My Life & Other Weaponised Muffins, a fifth book of weird-funny-gross, semi-autobiographical short stories and The Fall (May 2017), a CBCA Notable thriller novel for ages 10+. Tristan is excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can connect with him, learn more about his books, play games, watch videos and help him try to change the world here at www.tristanbancks.com

 

Honour Book, CBCA Awards 2015

Winner, YABBA & KOALA Kids’ Choice Awards 2015

Shortlisted, Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2015

 

Blog / Site:    www.tristanbancks.com

Twitter:          www.twitter.com/tristanbancks

Instagram:    www.instagram/tristanbancksbooks

Facebook:     www.facebook.com/tristanbancks

YouTube:      www.youtube.com/tristanbancks

ABOUT ZAMIKA:

Zamika is a 12 year old girl from New South Wales. She loves reading and is currently beginning writing her own book. She is known to sit and read for hours on end, and people are blown away by her ability to speed-read. Her favourite books are about dystopian lands or are historical fiction. She also loves mystery and thriller novels.

 

When Nat quizzed her about the important things in life, here's what she had to say...

 

1. Fav Aussie Author?  Jessica Townsend.

2. Fav books of all time? Harry Potter Series, Percy Jackson Series & The Afterlife of Holly Chase.

3. What do you want to be when you grow up? An author and a scientist.

4. What is your own book about? It's called The Thing About Stars and it is about 5 very different people, their journey through high school and how they are all connected. 

5. Fav food? Pancakes!

6. What annoys you most in the world & what would you change if you could? Unnecessary spelling rules and people fighting annoy me most. If I could, I would stop fighting in the world.  

 

Zamika is online at:

www.starnow.com.au/profile/?m_id=3932587&application_id=25499296


Whatcha Readin?

 

Kate recommends Tommy Bell - Bush Ranger Boy - Outback Adventure by Jane Smith.

www.bigskypublishing.com.au/Books/Children/Tommy-Bell-Bushranger-Boy-4/1190/productview.aspx

Once Upon A Small Rhinoceros

 

Liz recommends The Girl the Dog and the Writer in Rome by Katrina Nannestad

www.harpercollins.com.au/9780733338175/the-girl-the-dog-and-the-writer-in-rome

Truly Tan Jen Storer

Nat recommends Whatcha Building?by Andrew Daddo & Stephen Michael King

www.harpercollins.com.au/9780733334153/whatcha-building

Shout outs

On this episode, we give a shout out to some great April school holiday activities for book-lovers... 

SYDNEY:

Live stage performance of David Walliams’ bestselling novel 'Billionaire Boy' at the Sydney Opera House.

April 14 - 29

 

https://www.sydneyoperahouse.com/events/whats-on/Kids-and-Families/2018/billionaire-boy.html

MELBOURNE:

100 Story Holidays Program at the 100 Story Building in Footscray.

April 4 - 10

 

http://www.100storybuilding.org.au/100-story-holidays/



On Our Radar

Liz talks about a great book-related museum exhibition. Alphabetical Sydney is running until 12th August 2018 at The Museum of Sydney.

 

The exhibition has been produced in collaboration with illustrator Antonia Pesenti and author Hilary Bell, creators of the best-selling book Alphabetical Sydney. Sydney is brought to life with a series of creative activities designed to capture your imagination and encourage you to think about the magic of the city, from the icons to the suburbs, from the mundane to the wondrous.

 

Let your imagination run wild in a creative laboratory full of the sights and sounds of Sydney. Alphabetical Sydney: Creative Lab is an interactive children's exhibition that celebrates Sydney in all its diversity, from A to Z.

 

A souvenir Lab Kit, specially created for this exhibition, leads visitors through the show using playful illustrations and rhyming verse. Visitors can investigate the clues in the mini museum, write their own verse in the poetry factory, experience the magic of Sydney at dusk or relax with a book under the canopy of a Moreton Bay fig tree. The sounds of the city in all their intensity and diversity are hidden throughout – deafening cicadas, clanging construction, an elephant’s trumpet from the zoo.

 

Budding artists and authors and anyone with a sense of fun and a capacity to dream will all enjoy. Take the opportunity to write and draw your way through the city you love.

 

Join them daily at 10.30am in the exhibition for a book reading. Each day they choose a new book to read under the canopy of the Moreton Bay fig tree.

 

https://sydneylivingmuseums.com.au/exhibitions/alphabetical-sydney-creative-lab


Competition Details

 

 

Head to our WIN page and let us know in 25 words or less what you would paint if you had a magic paintbrush. Enter your answer (or ask a parent to) by 5pm Tuesday 17th April 2018, and we’ll choose our favourite answer. The prize includes the first two books in the Tiggy and the Magic Paintbrush early reader series by Zanni Louise – A School Day Smile and A Pet Called Nibbles.

Thanks

A special thank you to illustrator Marianne Khoo for designing the One More Page podcast logo and other associated images.

Want to know more?

Find us online at:

 

www.onemorepagepodcast.com

Facebook: @onemorepageAU

Twitter: @onemorepageAU

Instagram: @onemorepageAU

You can also tag us on social media with: #onemorepageAU

 

Do you have any feedback or suggestions for future episodes? Want to share with us what you’re reading? Email us at onemorepagepodcast@gmail.com or send us a message through our CONTACT page.

all illustrations have been done by Marianne Khoo who we love & appreciate more than she can ever imagine!

follow us on...

One More Page Podcast Facebook
One More Page Podcast Instagram
One More Page Podcast Twitter

or email us at onemorepagepodcast@gmail.com